top of page
  • Writer's pictureSara Jane Jacobs

Fool’s Luck by Dave Milbrandt

Updated: Jul 8, 2021

About the Book

Book: Fool’s Luck

Author: Dave Milbrandt

Genre: Political Fiction

Release date: July 13, 2021

When high school teacher Myles Bradford wins the Powerball lottery, he decides to do something truly unexpected: run for President of the United States. Bradford is eager about the opportunity, but his family clearly is not. With little time to sway them to his side, he’s thrust into running a quarter-billion-dollar nationwide campaign, complete with cross-country flights and road trips, expert staff, and armed security. But like most dreams, Bradford soon finds that what he imagined is completely different from what is real. Thrust into the spotlight, he faces attacks from newfound political enemies and false accusations while striving to climb the ladder of success. As Bradford gets closer to achieving his dreams, danger lurks on the home front. As his attention is pulled farther away from the things that matter most, Bradford may learn that even success has its price. Will he be able to have it all? Or will his thirst for power come at a tremendous cost?



“To be honest, I think my sinuses would like it if I stopped earning so many frequent flyer miles.” He took a sip. “Nothing this won’t cure.”

I doubt that, but whatever.

He stood up slowly, walked to the window, and waved me over. The twinkling lights accented the setting sun. I should be starving, even with the one-hour time difference from LA, but my stomach told me in no uncertain terms that any food I tried to give it would be returned to sender.

“Together, we could make America a better place for our kids, for our grandkids. We’ve got problems, plenty of them. Taxes, illegal immigration, homelessness, you name it. But if we work together, we can fix those problems, you and me. What do you say? Want to be the next vice president of the United States?”

The policy geek inside of me wanted to ask whether he had waited so long to pick a VP because he needed to neutralize me as a threat to his campaign.

But I wasn’t listening to that voice. I wasn’t listening to anything really because it was all I could do to actually breathe in and out. And I noticed my knees were locked. I took a seat before I started to get even more lightheaded then said the first thing on my mind, even though I shouldn’t have.






The author of the Jim Mitchell series of novels (Chasing Deception, Undue Pressure and Running), Dave Milbrandt fell in love with writing in junior high and has been a storyteller ever since. A former staff writer for a daily newspaper, the Southern California native spent five years in journalism and public relations before becoming a teacher.

In addition to working at several colleges, Dave has taught high school English and Social Science classes since 2005. Dave and his wife, Renée Lynn Milbrandt, who is also a writer, have been married since 1997.

Find out more about Dave and his latest projects at

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page